Kisumu woman raped, husband killed and home burnt

The witness is a 49 year old farmer and mother of 12 children of whom seven remain alive. She lives in Kisumu. This study demonstrates the desperate personal situation that some victims have found themselves in as a result of the Post Election Violence.

“I have lived in Kisumu throughout my married life. My neighbours were Luos and Kisiis, the majority of them being the Luos. Before the violence, we used to live well with our Kisii neighbours. We were good friends.

On 15 January, 2008, I went to the family shamba, but this time I was alone. I went there to get vegetables for the family. It was about 11 am in the morning. As soon as I started plucking the vegetables, on turning I saw 5 men coming towards me. They were young men, dressed in trousers and vests. The conspicuous thing about them is that they had ‘rastas’ – dreadlocks.’

They said to me ‘Ooh wewe ndio unasikia mzuri, unachuna mboga na sisi tunasikia mbaya? Sasa tumepata (oh you are the person feeling good … you are still plucking vegetables when we are feeling bad … now we have found you.) I was not able to tell their tribes because they were all speaking in Kiswahili and they all had dreadlocks.

One of the men held me on the waist, lifted me and threw me on the ground. Another man tore my panties and they started raping. One held my mouth so that I do not scream. I was trying to keep my legs together but one man held one of my legs while another held my other leg and kept my legs apart. There were no houses nearby. They raped me in turns. All the men raped me. Once they were done with me, they headed to a bush on the way to Nyalenda. The bushes are near River Nyamasaria.

I was not even able to pluck the vegetables that I had gone to cut. I just picked my basket and headed home. I was walking slowly. I was under a lot of pain; my hips were paining very much. I got to my house at around 4 pm. I told my husband, who was at home by then, of what had happened to me. I did not go to the hospital then because the roads were impassable. I still haven’t gone to the hospital to seek medical advice. I fear that since I have taken long before going to the hospital, the people at the hospital may never understand my predicament. I also did not report this to the police.

I still live in my house which was burnt before the rape, and I fear that should it be very windy, the wind is going to blow off the roof. I have not been able to repair my house and when it rains, water gets into my house. My husband passed away on 23 February 2008 at his place of work where he had been employed as a watchman. He was employed at the Wandiege Primary School.

On the night of 23 February, 2008, my husband was attacked by unknown people, killed and placed in a classroom. His body was picked by the police officers from Kondele Police station on 24 February 2008. They still have not done any investigation to ascertain who killed my husband.

I have been affected by post election violence. My life has changed since I was raped, my house was burnt and the death of my husband. I do not have a livelihood. My husband is dead and there is no income. I do not even know who will rebuild my house. I rely on people to help me. The clothes that my children wear, those that I wear, beddings have all come from people. Food has been a problem. I have to sell some vegetables to get some flour.”

One Response

  1. […] Kisumu woman raped, husband killed and home burnt […]

Leave a Reply

